IPF Board of Directors

At a July 13 special event at a private home on Independence Pass, the IPF Board of Directors and staff had an opportunity to thank existing supporters and greet new friends. We are grateful to our gracious hosts for a lovely and memorable evening on the Pass.


The IPF Board of Directors took time out on its July 17, 2014 tour of the Pass to have lunch at the Lincoln Creek Campground, the site of IPF’s “tree nursery” of Lodgepole Pine seedlings. Following lunch, they added notes to thank you letters for donors. Personal notes have been a hallmark of IPF through the years.

The Independence Pass Foundation Board of Directors is composed of a diverse, dedicated, and involved group of community volunteers. Meeting monthly, the 14 Board members provide guidance for all of the Foundation's work. They carry out many of IPF's responsibilities, including helping to organize the Ride for the Pass.

Paul D'Amato, Treasurer

Lindsey Utter, Secretary
Senior Environmental Planner
Pitkin County Open Space & Trails

Boots Ferguson

Bill Gruenberg
Private Investor
Community Volunteer

Kristen Henry, Vice President
Community Volunteer

Heidi H. Hoffmann

Gail W. Holstein
Community Volunteer


Debbi Falender, President
Community Volunteer

Emily J. Jack-Scott
Program Associate
Aspen Global Change Institute

James D. Peterson
Private Investor
Community Volunteer

Jim Stark
White River National Forest
U.S. Forest Service

David Hyman
Community Volunteer

Bob Wade
Owner, Ute Mountaineer 

King Woodward
Community Volunteer


On its tour, the IPF Board stopped at the summit of the Pass both to look at opportunities for improving this popular site, but also to collect trash. Gail Holstein joined the Board in 2007.
King Woodward is an original Board member, having served since IPF's founding in 1989. King has been both President and Treasurer. He joined other Board members in collecting trash on July 17.